Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Beginner Fly tying question

From SE PA
I hope I sized this photo properly.

I wasn't sure whether this is a question for the Beginner's forum or Fly Tying, but here goes...

I'm new at fly fishing and that rapidly let to fly tying. I tied a few Zebra Midge pattern flies for winter trout, and I tied them in 14, 16, and size 20. The attached photo is a size 20.

I noticed that I had a lot of trouble hooking trout with the size 20 hook. When I switched to a larger hook size, I caught two rainbows. Both were hooked in the upper lip. (And there was nothing like the feeling like catching a trout on a fly I tied, even if they were less than perfect).

Questions...

Is the bead too large for the size #20 ? (I think it was 7/64")

Was my hook setting too slow?

I'll take any advice on the fly that I tied or anything else regarding setting the hook using smaller flies.

Weaves

Attach file:

jpg  Midge Beadhead2.jpg (93.58 KB)
6848_50df00ce0164c.jpg 800X533 px

Posted on: 2012/12/29 9:40

Re: Beginner Fly tying question

From Philadelphia
Use 2mm beads on size 20

Posted on: 2012/12/29 10:20

From Lancaster Co.
The bead is too large. I don't think it's a case of your hook set being too slow. I've always been of the opinion that if a fish eats your fly, it eats your fly and the timing of your hook set doesn't really have a lot to do with it. Sometimes you just don't get a solid hook up and the fish gets off.

Posted on: 2012/12/29 10:23

From Abington
Yep, the bead is a little largish...you'd get better hookups with a smaller bead. and you could probably skip the herl on a zebra that size....I don't use herl on any of my zebra's and they catch fish...It's a matter of personal choice...

If I was a trout I'd eat it.

Posted on: 2012/12/29 10:24

From SE PA
Thanks for the advice guys.