Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Beads

From Mercer, Pa
i am relatively new to fly tying, and I've been experiencing some problems with getting beads around the bend of my sproat hooks for nymphs, specifically smaller sizes (18+). I have heard that you can use the dry fly equivalent and it will be easier to get the bead around the bend, but I already have a decent supply of nymph/wet fly hooks. Is there any tips/tricks or something i may be doing wrong? It is not a devestating problem, its just annoying. i tried crimping the barb and that worked for some but not all. I currently am using beads for size 16 hooks, because I've found that i usually have to "bump up" to the bigger size bead to get it around the bend. but even that isn't working on 18+ sizes.

Any help?

Posted on: 2013/2/28 10:17

Re: Beads

From Portage, PA
Are you pinching the barb?

If you are not this will fix your problem.

Some times you can take your finger nail at the bottom and apply pressure. I would not suggest bending the hook out and re-bending this will cause weakness.

You may also want to crimp foreceps to the bead and pull it on with the metal tool.

Look into beads with the slot on the bottom as well.

hope this helps.

Posted on: 2013/2/28 11:02

From Tioga co. formerly of bucks co.
sproat hooks are not intended for beads....that being said mike above hit it..

Posted on: 2013/2/28 11:07

So many Fish, So little time !!!
from the outer edge of nowhere
fly tying and fishing ghillie..

From Mercer, Pa
im pinching the barb, but i either bend the hook or hurt my fingers trying to get it around the bend. I am realizing now why you say sproat hooks are not intended for beads. I have never tried the slotted beads, maybe that is something that i should look into.