Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 (3)

Re: Penobscot river Maine

From NH
Thanks for the opportunity to chime in FishMedic. I've been fishing up there for a few decades. A few suggestions.

-Up there brookies and ll salmon our king.
-Bring your longer fly rods.
-Flows(on applicable rivers) and water temps. dicate how you will do. Be flexible. Give a river/pond an hour you will know if they r biting, or not, move on.
-Visit Maine Guide Shop web site to research and when you first get into town. Dan/Penny are straight shooters and have the daily pulse.
-Typically that time of year, streamers less so, caddis and mayfly hatches prevelant.
-Don't forget to try this areas remote trout ponds (rent a canoe on the cheap) early AM and PM. Drakes will start in latter part of your trip. My bride still loves me paddling her around as i fish...
HTH

Posted on: 2013/1/25 13:04

From Da 'Berg, PA
Should be some big golden stones up there that time of year - size 8-10 stimulators will do as a dry for a dry dropper rig with a bh ptn or prince nymph on the dropper in 16-18.

Great for fishing pocket water.

Bass are not a problem on the big rivers, it's the juvi salmon and brook trout that suffered on smaller streams like the lower magalloway.

Congrats on the wedding.

Posted on: 2013/1/25 20:29

From Lehigh Valley, PA
WOW thanks for all the info guys!!! Its definitely appreciated!!! My fiance and I are excited to go!!! We will definitely post up some pics afterwards hopefully with a few hogs in them!!! Thanks!!!!

Posted on: 2013/1/27 8:17

"A trout is a moment of beauty known only to those who seek it."

Most of the fishing in my childhood was done at a warmwater lake in Maine, for perch, pickerel and smallmouth bass. Smallies were particularly prized.