Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Interesting turn of events: where to fish in western PA?

From Las Vegas, NV
Well, there is a *chance* that I may be getting military orders out of Nellis AFB in Las Vegas and into Wright-Patterson AFB near Dayton, OH. Obviously, that would be a huge change as far as my hunting and fly fishing options are concerned, but it's not something I would be terribly upset with. However, I'd also be pressing the reset button on my knowledge about where to go since I've never fished western PA.

Given that I am still a PA resident, I would have no issue buying an annual license/trout stamp and fishing the western edge of the state. If I'm after wild trout, heck, even stocked waters, what part of the western edge of the state should I be looking at? I'm not even talking specific waters, but what county, is a good place to have a lot of options?

Thanks for your help.

Posted on: 2013/11/1 18:56

Re: Interesting turn of events: where to fish in western PA?

From SW PA
There are a number of places, but for my money the Yough is the best in the SW. (Youghiogheny River) It's not necessarily easy, and does have a tendency to beat you up occasionally, but it does give up some lovely rainbows, huge browns, and the occasional eye-popping bikini (in season of course)

Posted on: 2013/11/1 19:36

From Gettysburg
Six,
Unfortunately, the western counties of PA are largely a trout fishing desert. There are some waters and things get much better as you head further east into more mountainous areas.....but the counties bordering OH are pretty slim for trout. Check the link in the upper right side of this page "Pennsylvania Trout Streams" to get started.