Clarks Creek

L

LimestoneSpecial

I've been fishing the fly section of Clarks for more than 40 years. This is where I learned the basics. Solid hatches and a good number of trout was the perfect recipe for a beginner.

I just spent Sunday afternoon fishing my favorite stretches and there were literally no fish to be caught. This isn't the first time this has happened. Last year was the same.

Now maybe back in the 1970's having some of these holes look like an aquarium was a little much, but presently you can't fine one trout in these same holes...and I mean not just fishing for them, but nothing darts away from being spooked either. And other fisherman I have talked to have similar complaints.

So, is there a memo I missed or what is going on? Last year I think I stopped going because there were no fish, even into May. I expect the same this year.

Anyone know what's going on?

I can't speak for Clarks, but what was the condition of the stream when it was stocked? I know where I fished Saturday, they were unable to get the truck down the forest road they normally stock from. Snow only mostly melted out a week and a half ago. The stream itself was covered with up to six inches of ice, which they had to chip holes in to allow the fish to be dumped in. They had to run fish on ATVs from another forest road. The net result was that the hole beside where we camped, which normally is filled with buckets of fish yielded exactly one fish hooked and caught all weekend. It may just be that they were unable to stock the stretch you fished.

That being said, I had a similar experience on Clarks about ten years ago. Likely looking water held no fish, or at least I couldn't raise them. I blamed the fisherman at the time.

I just checked the stocking schedule and it looks like 5/8 is another stocking. But remember I had the same issues last year. This was my early season stream for Hendricksons. When the weather got sunny and warm in April, I couldn't wait to get to Clarks.