Wood Duck Chapter of TU

sdwlucas

sdwlucas

I am new to the Philipsburg PA (Centre Co.) area and am interested in joining the Wood Duck Chapter of TU. I was speaking with the wife of the treasurer of the same. She explained when the TU hatchery was here in Glass City the membership and attendance at meetings was greater than it is today. She was telling me it was nothing to see 30+ at the meetings beofre the hatchery closed (long story though) now its 3 members. I would like some insight from other TU members as to whether I should join the TU here (since there are less members and less involvement) or would it be advised to join another chapter close to here. I am also trying to stir some interest in the Wood Duck Chapter as it is greatly needed.

Go to the meeting, volunteer for the membership committee, which may consist of you, and try to build the membership. If it can't be done, try to convince the others to merge with another local chapter or just transfer your membership.

The only thing I see is the great improvements that Wood Duck Chapter has made to the streams (when in full operation) in my area. I know there are many more streams that need to be improved. AMD has inhabitated many, many streams around here and I believe that there are many more improvements that can be made, I would like to join this TU due to the fact that most of the streams I fish are closeby and TU can do so much more for them.