Opinion needed sanctuary solution

Stenonema

Stenonema

I asked the question about the protection for cold water refuges as a baited question. I wanted to see what others felt on the subject. I have been sitting on and protecting such an area for three decades now. I have seen trout population trends due to many factors. With the focus being protection of these areas, I will not go into the importance of the different factors effecting overall trout population. I will explain how I have been protecting a vital refuge area. I am not saying that what I am doing is right or wrong. I am open to ideas. The trout are what I am protecting, not my ego. This is my un-official appeal to likeminded anglers for advice. The discovery came after witnessing an influx of larger trout up a small trout stream that I called home at thirteen years of age. I didn’t tell anyone at first. I had already realized this error on another of my favorite streams. I cherry picked the stacked trout for a week or two every year when they first came in. Their arrival coincided with a flying ant hatch that was over by six a.m. I was young and sixty trout mornings were difficult to resist. Then one year the water heated more rapidly and a twenty incher fought to exhaustion and became difficult to revive.
Rule number one. Don’t fish over the trout. The short term enjoyment comes at a price. Another factor is that someone may see you catching trout thus drawing unwanted attention.