Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Your goto leader and tippet size

From Perkasie, PA
Not sure if this should be here or in the gear section...
After much thought, I am breaking down and getting a new rod at cabela's. I was going to replace my line on my #7 rod but for the price I'm better of getting a combo. I have my rod and line weight decided and that is not a factor in what size tippet I need to use on any given day. I want to get started with a selection of 2 leader/tippet sizes or weights to keep things simple. I am really a novice at this as I'm learning....

Valley creek and the little lehigh are the two areas I'll be hitting over the next few months.

So if it is possible please suggest tippet sizes and a few fly sizes to go with each to have good luck learning. I know that what is available at the time is what you would select but I'm not at the point yet. I was hoping to have a goto starting setup and work from there.

Also with regards to tying the leader on what's the general censes here nail or loop knots?

Posted on: 2012/4/11 23:15

Re: Your goto leader and tippet size

From Along the Lehigh Above the Gap
I use a 9ft 4x tapered leader and will taper further with tippet. I connect with a loop to loop so I can change my leaders out fast depending on my style of fishing. Dryfly leader I use a 12ft hand tied leader made by Chris Fav Fly fishing. Size flies all depends what is hatching. PT's, sucker spawns, and hares ears will work for nymphing and tan caddis, BWO's, caddis patterns up top.

Posted on: 2012/4/11 23:47

http://bugflingerandfeatherlasher.blogspot.com/

From Pretty much everywhere at some point, Thorndale today.
For those two streams. 9 ft, 4x leader.