what am i doing wrong?

ihrtffishing

ihrtffishing

I've been attempting to fly fish for a few years now. I'm only 14 so I don't go all that often. I've caught sunnies and even a few bass but I can't seem to catch any trout. I've been looking all around this.forum to see if anyone else is having the same problem...is it my fly,my casting or what?please help!!!

I started flyfishing when I was 15, I never even knew anyone that flyfished at the time so I had to learn on my own. Try to find someone in your area to fish with, I'm a few hundred miles away, but I would be glad to help you if I was close. Look through the threads for topics that might answer questions that you have or ask about specific questions you have. There is a lot of little things that you need to learn but it's not hard. But everyone dosn't catch trout every time they go. One thing important is to have comfidence, and don't give up.

Use a wolly bugger and some split shot about ten inches up the tippet.

Learned that from here a few months ago and have been successful since. Working on nymphing now. Good luck! :)

ihrtffishing wrote:
I've been attempting to fly fish for a few years now. I'm only 14 so I don't go all that often. I've caught sunnies and even a few bass but I can't seem to catch any trout. I've been looking all around this.forum to see if anyone else is having the same problem...is it my fly,my casting or what?please help!!!

I grew up right down the road from you in Wyoming. There is some decent trout fishing in the NE. Try one of the stocked streams in the area like Bowmans or Harveys. You can spin fish until you locate fish. Try drifting and stripping a wooly bugger.

Be sure not to miss fishing the Susky, right down the street from you. When (if!) the water comes down this summer the smallmouth bass will be hungry. A wooly bugger or a popper on top should put a nice bend in your rod. Good luck.