Tippet size selection

jayL

jayL

I have been thinking about what I believe to be common misconceptions among beginning FFers.

I thought back to when I was a 14 year old beginner, that only really knew what I was told by fly shops, magazines, and the odd TV show.

Without a doubt, the one biggest misconception that I had was about tippet size.

Beginning fly fishermen, for whatever reason, seem to feel that fly fishing is about light, delicate tippets. There is a culture of overestimating trout's sensitivity to tippets, IMO, and it results in a lot of beginners with twisted tippets and break offs.

I have found the following points to ring true:

1. Tippet size is primarily a function of fly size.

If you're fishing a size 12 or 14 dry fly on 7 or 8x, you probably will experience line twist. The tippet is too supple to prevent twist while casting or retrieving flies. 4 or 5x is much better suited for flies of that size.

2. Trout can see 4x. Trout can see 8x. Trout can see 12x. Using smaller tippet DOES help you to achieve a better presentation. This is because it's more limber, and allows you to get a better drift. Often, I have found that the same effect can be achieved by using a longer piece of heavier tippet, and working on my presentation. There is no magic formula for presentation. It takes practice and hours on the water. Using lighter tippet is a crutch, IMO, and can be substituted with better presentation skills.

In situations where presentation isn't much of a concern, such as a brookie stream, there is no reason to use any less than 3x. I prefer 1x. It saves flies from trees and brush, requires less re-ties, and in the off chance that I hook a nice fish, allows me to keep it out of structure.