Teaching my son to FF

FlyGuyFromPa

FlyGuyFromPa

I hope I'm putting this in the correct place. I was wondering if some of you anyone can give me some advice on how to get my 9 year old started on the fly. I've read several articles, but I'd like to hear some real life success stories. Also, what size/wt combo would be a good starter? I have a great pond near my house loaded with smaller bluegills, stockies, and catfish. Any advice on how to go about this? He has interest, and I want to make sure I start him off the proper way. Having never spin fished (he usually just let's line out right off the dock, no casting) he won't have to deal with what I call the "unlearning curve" I'm dealing with right now.

I am just starting out myself and I am teaching my 8 year old son with me. He loves spin fishing and last year I did a guided fly trip in montana and want to start fly fishing now. I got him a cheap setup from wallmart and its a 5/6 weight rod. I cant wait. To see what replies you get from others besides this newbie

Check out Echo Gecko rods, sorry cant post link. Or if you just want to get them casting I bought a Micro Practice Rod for myself and my son, you can use it indoors. I'm still a newbie but working on it

I taught my son. We started on streams. What really turned him on was his first hatch: Green Drakes on Spruce Creek-- it was magical. I find that letting them bring to hand your hooked fish will help. I also took him to bluegill ponds/lakes. If he doesn't have to unlearn, then the casting stroke will be easier to teach.

After teaching two grandsons to fish there may be no tired and true method but since your son is a little older I would get him just casting in the back yard this winter.{ You may have already done this}