Starting on Limestoners

Paulson

Paulson

I am in the beginning phases of starting to plan some trips up to Valley Creek, and was curious as to how I should arm myself in terms of technique and fly selection. As implied, I am completely new to spooky natural trout, but would like a sliver of confidence going in.

What should I do? What you have you done differently?

Thanks!

Have fun!
FFing (and many other things) is about confidence in what you doing. So go with what got ya there... ie fish how you like to fish and you'll catch some and you'll learn some.
I've seen many times in "technical" situations matching the hatch with exact imitations and long leaders and some yahoo will come through with a big, gaudy garbage fly and do just as well as everyone else. (and I call them yahoos only because I was the one trying to be technical!)

Fishing upstream is usually best since the trout are facing upstream.

Don't silhouette yourself against the sky - use the cover on the bank to break up your silhouette

Kneel or crouch to stay low thus less visible to the trout

Wear drab / earth tone colored clothing - avoid wearing bright colors

Try not to wade the middle of the stream, rather stay on or near the bank

Stay back further behind the trout and cast up to them

Try not to cast over the fish - cast at an angle or curve cast

Fly selection is not a big deal. If you follow the above, you should be able to catch some trout on some smaller pheasant tails, hares ears and zebra midges.

Afish just saved me some typing. Excellent advise above. Have fun, let us know how you make out.

Thanks for the advice gentlemen.

I have noticed I tend to get excited when I see fish and move too quick. Reaching into my head a bit, I have fished native brookies before, but only once, and yes, very spooky.