Newbie Questions

T

TheRascal88

Firstly, I just joined the site today and excited to get involved and talk to you guys that know 1000x more than I do.

I am a very avid bass fisherman living in Lancaster, PA. I have zero equipment or experience with fly fishing but I really want to get into it this spring and summer. I've found that the areas that I bass fish really shut down come the end of June. So, being able to have more opportunities for smallies in Mill Creek and the Conestoga during the summer months would be fantastic.

Like I said, I have no equipment (rod, reel, flies, etc.) at all so any advice from you all who fish for stream or small-river smallies would be much appreciated.

Also, any advice in terms of the best way to learn the basics of casting would be great as well.

Thanks guys and looking forward to learning as much as possible and hopefully meeting some of you as well. Take care.

Great choice of species to chase with a fly rod. With trout, and smallies even more, my best advice would be to keep things simple. Get a 6wt (or somewhere around there) combo, and a selection of a few good smallie flies (clousers, big black buggers, crayfish, poppers), and get out on the stream. One nice thing about smallie waters is that they are generally larger and more open than trout waters, which makes casting easier. Smallies are not the pickiest species when it comes to flies or approach, and they fight better than most any other fish out there. My number one suggestion would be to spend time on the water. Once you hook into a nice smallie on a fly rod you'll never want to go back.