New to Steelhead!

hughzar

hughzar

I'm pretty new to the sport of fly fishing, so there's a lot that I need to learn. My friend and I wanted to try our hands at steelhead fishing this fall. Can anyone offer any tips or advice to a couple of greenhorns? From what types of flies to pick up, to what days not to fish, to bring a poncho, I'll take any advice you have to offer!

Standard trout nymphs work well for steelhead depending on their mood. Anything from a #16 pheasant tail or hare's ear to a #6 black stonefly. Add plenty of egg patterns in various colors and sizes. The egg patterns are fished just like nymphs. I will sometimes fish streamers for steelhead, again various colors and sizes. Some folks swing wet flies for steel, but I'm not the right guy to talk to about that, maybe someone else will chime in.

Low and clear is tough fishing and so is high and chocolate milk. The best steelhead fishing comes during the transitions between these two extremes (assuming we are talking about the Erie tribs in PA). Do bring rainwear and be prepared to fish if the water is rising or falling; especially during those magical times when the water is discolored enough that the fish don't see you, but there is enough clarity that they can still find your fly.

check out the lengthy steelhead posts in the fly tying and general forum. There's a lot of info to read up on there.

I look at the water guage before I go and watch the rain. The larger creeks, walnut and elk, take longer to dirty, but longer to clear. Opposite for the smaller creeks.

http://waterdata.usgs.gov/nwis/uv?04213152

Don't trust any of the reports on Fisherie.com. Half of them are lies, the other half aren't telling the truth.

Keep asking questions though. We'll help you out.

Ryan

The best advice I can give is...come to the steelhead jam :-D

I concurr with both Alby and Rygufi's advice RE: what/when to fish. There's lots of good info in the forum archives as well.