New to Fall FIshing & Best Midge of Western PA

P

PorkChop

Hello, I am pretty new to fly fishing and not afraid to admit it. I fish in Western PA and wanted to ask a few questions for the board. I tried doing some research on the board here but didn't really find what I was looking for... so here are my questions..

New to fall fishing- what patterns & sizes are most effective for October- November- December fishing?

I was reading that Midges are great for fall fishing.. what patterns and sizes do you use? Also how do you know what patterns and sizes to select when your out in the field?

Generic nymphs like pheasant tails, hares ears, stoneflies, flies tied on scud style hooks work well. I like a dark brown bead head nymph in size 14. Small streamers can be effective. I like to use a weighted size 14 nymph and a smaller fly like the midge you speak of as a dropper, the larger fly gets the smaller one down to where the fish are but can also take fish as well. Zebra midge is one that works well.

^ +1. I often fish a tandem rig with a bead head pheasant tail, hares ear, or copper john with a zebra midge or some variation of a zebra midge.

Thank you for the responses, I am curious to see if others reply and fill in with other tips. Any colors that work best in MIDGE for Fall? What colors are most effective for SWPA trout streams? Any takers?

I almost always fish a double nymph rig with a bead head HE, PT or the likes with a midge pattern. I like the Al's rat type on a scud hook. Super easy to tie and seem to work for me atleast. Also like the wound copper body with a wisp of dubbing on a size 20 scud. More like a brassie nymph i think, but no bead.

Also, small egg patterns have been working for me...cream, light pink.

As you get into Dec and the colder months, stoneflies are a good choice (for those streams that have stoneflies.) Stoneflies "nymphs" remain active and thus are a food source for the trout.