Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

New to Fall FIshing & Best Midge of Western PA

From Western Pa
Hello, I am pretty new to fly fishing and not afraid to admit it. I fish in Western PA and wanted to ask a few questions for the board. I tried doing some research on the board here but didn't really find what I was looking for... so here are my questions..

New to fall fishing- what patterns & sizes are most effective for October- November- December fishing?

I was reading that Midges are great for fall fishing.. what patterns and sizes do you use? Also how do you know what patterns and sizes to select when your out in the field?

Posted on: 2013/10/27 19:51

Re: New to Fall FIshing & Best Midge of Western PA

From Ferguson Twp.
Generic nymphs like pheasant tails, hares ears, stoneflies, flies tied on scud style hooks work well. I like a dark brown bead head nymph in size 14. Small streamers can be effective. I like to use a weighted size 14 nymph and a smaller fly like the midge you speak of as a dropper, the larger fly gets the smaller one down to where the fish are but can also take fish as well. Zebra midge is one that works well.

Posted on: 2013/10/27 20:12

From Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
^ +1. I often fish a tandem rig with a bead head pheasant tail, hares ear, or copper john with a zebra midge or some variation of a zebra midge.

Posted on: 2013/10/28 12:51

From Western Pa
Thank you for the responses, I am curious to see if others reply and fill in with other tips. Any colors that work best in MIDGE for Fall? What colors are most effective for SWPA trout streams? Any takers?

Posted on: 2013/10/28 13:18

From Coopersburg