New leader time.

MotoLappa

MotoLappa

Ok I need to intsall a new leader. What is the norm? Are people using a perfection loop or a blood knot or another alternative? Currently it has a blood knot but I must admit I have trouble tying it. What is common?

I use perfection loops and if the new leaders doesn't have one on it at the time of purchase I just add one. Helps make experimenting that much easier.

If your flyline already has a loop use a loop to loop connection, otherwise use a nail knot.

I would recommend adding a loop if there is none. This enables you to carry multiple leaders, and to change easily on the stream. Unless I'm using furled, I switch leaders whenever I switch between dries, nymphs, and streamers. Harvey, straight tippet with amnesia butt, and a leader tapered to 12lb test respectively. As a beginner, I would have had no use for all of those leaders, but I think it's good to set your rig up for a quick change, should you decide you want to experiment.

Well I spent the last few hours tying blood knots. I am pretty comfortable with them now. I think the loop work be way easier way to switch at a creek side. I am pretty sure this is the way I will go next time. I do not have a welded loop at the end of my line. Is there an advantage to one rather than tying a loop?

I usually cut my welded loops off when a line comes with them.

Cut the end of the line at a 45 degree angle, so that it fits nicely together when you loop it.

Create the loop and pinch it with your fingers or a tying vise.

Use heavy tying thread to secure the wrap shut. I like to use bright colors as kind of a strike indicator.

Whip finish it or throw a few half hitches in.

Cover it with knotsense or super glue.

I haven't found a good picture yet, but it basically looks like a welded loop with thread covering the base.

Is your way that much better jay?

Than a welded loop?

Yes. I've had a few welded loops fail. I never have had one of the whipped loops come close.