New fisherman from Northwestern PA

fishingnoob

fishingnoob

Hello fellow fisherman. I'm from Northwestern PA and just got into the game after my fiance's uncle introduced me to fly fishing when I was in Colorado. I was able to learn the basics from that experience however I am still rusty. I got a great 9ft 6# sage rod with a 6# weight forward leader and 3x tippet and I'm ready to hit the local streams. I'm looking to head down to Cool Creek in Mercer this weekend, but I need to get some flys. This is an area where I have no clue what I need or what I'm looking at. What I need to know is what flys are best for the area. From doing some research I found that woolly buggers seem to be the best, but what other suggestions would you guys have?

First thing...go back to Colorado! Short of that, you are fortunate to be in a state with some great streams. I am not very experienced, but am fortunate to have the resource of some veru experienced fishermen, as well as this forum. I can tell you that your gear is a bit heavy for most PA trout and streams, short of perhaps Steelhead where some might argue it's a tad light....some might not.

You can certainly fish with a 6wt rod, but the 3x tippet is heavy. You want to taper down to a 5 or 6x tippet. When you can, look to grab a 4wt, perhaps a 5wt rod. My brother loves to go light with a 3wt, so it is subjective. 4wt seems to be a pretty good all arounder for most PA streams.

Woollys are good, because they are designed to look like anything, instead of something specific. Black, Olive, or a Black/Olive mix tend to be the most productive. Pheasant Tail Beadhead nymph is good, as are Hare's Ear, and various muddlers. San juan worms look like worms...guess how that works out...

good luck and enjoy the ride!

Thanks joseywales. I'll definitely invest on getting some 5 and 6x tippet when I go and buy flys as well as the variation of flys you suggested