Let's talk lead.

gfen

gfen

When y'all apply split shot to the line, just how much are we talking about?

I've got a box of wee little ones, but it seems like they're too small. I actually picked up a set of BB sized from the regular tackle, as I know that's what the steelheaders prefer, but that's almost too much it seems.

So, what size(s) do you carry?

I use the "Water Gremlin" ones (with the ears) in size B (very small) and BB (pretty small). I pretty much gave up on micro shot, because they are difficult to put on, and almost impossible to take off. I use "Tungsten Tacky Weight" instead of micro shot.

And NO.......the ears have never made my fly or tippet spin, or hang up on the bottom like some claim. I've been using them for many years.

I carry a wheel of various micro shot, and a small package of water gremlin BBs.

If I'm not ticking bottom within the first few seconds of the drift, I'll add more. There are spots on bigger streams like penns where I've used two or three BB shot.

Afish's tungsten tacky weight is good stuff. I've tried to buy it twice, and the stuff I got sucked. It was hard, and would not stay on the tippet.

I've been meaning to ask you afish... where do you get it? Also, where do you get the B water gremlins? I almost never see them anywhere these days.

B's and BB's...Had the same pack for years. They occasionally end up in the same pile as the change my wife finds in the laundry...I probably have enough in the front pocket of my waders to refill the original bag.

Fair enough, I thought I had a pack of B sized somewhere, too, but perhaps not.

So you guys are using the BB sized ones vs the microshot, which I have and seem to only ever jump right to the biggest ones in the wheel anyways.

Rumour has it the earless ones open up if you pinch them perpendicular to the groove, instead of with it. That never works for me, either.

Tacky weight, one of those things I only ever think of when I'm here and not in a store.