Late October-Mid November in Lehigh Valley

87SS383

87SS383

I will be home from Afghanistan for R&R between October 20 & November 15. I've fished the Monocacy from the lock to the Lehigh River & The Little Lehigh from the Hatchery to the end of the park with a spinning rod before, but have been studying fly casting over the last few months in anticipation for my R&R. I'm interested to explore new waters in the Lehigh Valley within 30-40 mins from Allentown/Bethlehem. I'm a noob to fly fishing, but I ordered a cheap outfit from Cabela's and had it sent out here to my base to practice my cast.

Now to the meat and potatoes. Besides guidance on good producing waters, what flies should I fish during that time frame? I'm only gonna be home for a limited time, and I would like to try and maximize my production. Any and all information will be a great help.

Also, I don't yet own waders, so any areas that are fishable by shore would be preferred.

Per the LL there are some good guys here who have a ton of knowledge, much more than I BUT I'll give it a shot and these guys can correct me if I F-up ... as long as we haven't seen any frost I believe I was told (and someone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong) that the Tricos still hatch in the AM. BWO also hatch I'm just not sure when.

Not sure what dry's to use but you should nymph all the regulars, WB and also try some zebra midges. The entire LL, from the Hatchery down has fish and many of the guys have their favorite spots ... me I'm just happy if I catch a fish or 2 (lol) ... good luck and thanks for ur service.

Thank you for your service.

I would fish Ptails, wolly buggers, egg patterns and zebra midges on the LL.
Also have some Al's Rats and some small midge dry flies too.

Great talking with you today. Like I said earlier "THANKS AGAIN" for your service and get home safe. I know there are many that can help you up there. If you can make it down then we can get out together.
Best Wishes,
Mike