Fish aren't biting... please read and reply, good or bad.

B

bpassione

I am new to fly fishing, but an avid fisherman who has spent many years learning about fish and their habits. Although when fly fishing I never seem to catch fish. From switching up fly size, color, pattern, dry, wet, steamers, weighted, non weighted, etc., still never even get a bite. Also I match the hatch when the bugs are coming off the water with no luck.

I'm not complaining, I really just don't understand. The amount of days on the water (3-4 per week), practice(3-8hrs per trip), and dedication are there, just not the reward of fish landed or even biting.

The hell with giving up, that's not even an option! I'm just looking for any input I cant get as to what, how, when, or why I many not be achieving the results I desire.

BTW: I usually fish Slippery Rock Creek (SRC) 488 Hienz camp road, SRC @ kennedy mills, and Volant, PA which I have had some luck @ Volant.

I am in no way an expert on anything fly fishing but I really think that finding good holding water is more important than anything. SRC is a big creek, and there is a lot of water to read. I would fish a good, all around searching pattern in the fishiest (is that a word?) spots first. I don't know how the bugs have been up there, but if there aren't rising fish, I would start working nymphs. If the water is up, I'd start working streamers or buggers. I feel that SRC is easier to read farther upstream from the F.F.O. section, but it is almost impossible to wade.

If you haven't yet, stop in and ask around at the fly shop in Volant.

If it makes you feel any better, the only fish I've caught in SRC have been smallies every august when the white maylies are hatching. Always a white wooly bugger towards Breakneck.

Let us know how it goes.