First trout of 2011

P

psummrnl

My first trip out this year. After making the conversion last June from spin fisherman to fly fisherman, I only got out a hand full of times. I'm still a beginner level novice! I've been reading all winter and brushing up on my fly fishing accumen and I am happy to report I caught two fish Saturday morning and landed one. I fished the Gunpowder in northern Baltimore County. The fish I landed was small but it was a beautiful native brown. I primarily used a beadheaded pheasant tail and nymphed, trying to get that down first and foremost. I wasn't real sure on the strike indicator placement so I decided to fish without one. After figuring out the appropriate weight, I think I had the hang of it pretty well. The water was tough; low and clear and the sun wasn't out so neither were any hatches. I did try a small wooly bugger for a while, both dead drifting it and stripping for a bit but no luck. I'm officially hooked though!

low and clear conditions, good choice w. no indicator. congrats on your first fish.

also, the only native fish to pa is the brook trout, and I would guestimate that a mere 10 percent of "native" brook trout are actually native, with the other 90 being deemed "wild".

browns, brooks, and bows are mostly wild these days, meaning they are self-reproducing, but done so through efforts of man (introducing wild strains from other waterways to take hold) and nature (birds, migration).

Wild meaning not stocked in my reference.

lol I know, but you referred to the brown as being "native"... browns are only native to eurupe.

there are wild bows, browns, brooks, and native brooks in the state... all i was getting at. the chances of you catching an actual native brook trout are very slim... thousands of wilds.

wild brown:
100_2720.jpg

wild or native brook:
4718190948_c12ba2068f.jpg

wild bow:
bow1fisherie.jpg