Butt, mid, and tippet section HELP !!

S

sampelz9

I am not a beginner, but I was hoping someone can help me with tying my own leaders ? I never tried so I need more guidance . I understand the tippet sizes, but I don't know what lb test to use for the butt, and mid section . Say if I wan't to make a 9ft leader with a 4x tippet , what lb test line will the butt and mid section be ? Also how many inches should the butt, and mid section be ?

All help would be greatly appreciated ! I did download leader calc 2007, but it's not making any sense to me, so please let me see the light haha .

Thank You !

Leader Calc is a good way to go. All you do is click on the drop downs and select the line wt, tippet size, and leader length. It will then give you the length for each section starting from butt to tippet. The line diameter is at the top of each column. If you don't like leader calc, you can always try the Harvey formula.

http://www.riseformstudio.tv/leader_formula.html

I think your mistake is going by lb test instead of line diameter, everything in fly fishing revolves around the diameter.

On the leader calc spreadsheet, the diameters are at the top. The numbers in the data area are then the length of the section at that diameter.

That's exactly where I'm going wrong, I still can't get it lol . I read the manual for leader calc and I still isn't clicking . I'll figure it out eventually. I don't know if I have full access to leader calc . I can use the drop down menus I only see one diameter . I get an error message when I open leader calc .

So I don't know what's going on . Is there a video that explains somewhere ? I checked youtube and they had nothing .

Thanks

My standard trout fishing leader for nymph fishing with a 5 weight line goes something like this:

BUTT: 3' of 40 lb test

BELLY: 2' of 25 lb then 2' of 15lb

TIPPET: 2' of 6lb