AM Or PM Fishing

arbor1

arbor1

I'm just wondering when it is best to be out on the water for trout. Is it better in the early morning or later in the day when a hatch could be taking place or doesn't it really matter? I'm a true beginner to all of this and don't really have a clue when its the best time to be out to match the hatch.

Depends on the weather...I just fish when I can...also depends whether you want to fish dries or nymphs or a whole lot of other variables.

Both are good. Nap midday in warm months.

Arbor,
Trout feed 24 hours per day but will often seek the times when water temps are ideal for them (50-65 degrees F). In cold winter weather, mid day is often best because that's when temps are warmest. By summertime, with water temps high, trout feed best in the early morning when it's coolest - or at nightime.
This time of year, with moderate weather, trout fishing is often best in the evenings as this is when insect/hatch activity tends to be highest. Some hatches occur in the morning, such as tricos, but most hatches are heaviest in the evening or right at dusk.

As you spend time on the water, keep your eyes open and observe. I agree w/ fishidiot on the general premis. You will eventually learn what bugs are on the waters you like to fish. A little reading or asking a few questions will help you figure out when specific bugs hatch. If you are there when everything "comes together", it improves your chances of having a banner day. Like tom said, I just get out when I can and that's not much anymore. Spend as much time as you can out there, keep your eyes open... they won't lie to you. I still probably spend more time observing than I do actually casting the rod.

i am a whenever I have a chance. a lot of times that is in the afternoon till sunset.

I think some fish are in a union. cause i will be catching them or at least missing them. then it all stops. and then a little later they will start to feed again. Like they have break time or something