4th day in a row

wetboot

wetboot

and no fish!!!! i know im a newbie to fly fishing but come on!!! i should be able to catch a stockie!!! lol getting pretty frustrated....

Bah ha ha ha! I just made a similar post! I got the skunk yesterday, and the day before I caught one fish in 3 hours! This sport if frustrating sometimes. I'm sure it'll start to make sense if we just keep putting our time in...

What are you trying to catch them on?

haha i know...glad im not the only one lol ive never even caught a trout on a fly yet!! but i used glo bugs mostly tied on a couple nymphs still nothing haha

Oh so you're just starting out? Winter's a rough time to learn to fly fish, I think. I've been at it for like 8 months now, and I can tell you that I had a lot more fun learning when it was warmer outside. The fish are a lot more active even in the heat of summer than in the winter.

Plus when it's warm you can use dry flies, which in my experience is easier and a lot more fun! Also when it's warm out you can catch some sunnies after getting skunked! Lol. Makes those tough days a little better if you can at least get something!

I haven't had any luck with glo-bugs, but I've heard they work for some people. If I catch anything (which feels really rare lately), I catch them on scuds or hare's ear nymphs. Also found a pattern called "czech mate" that seems to work well, at least on the stream I fish.

Dudes don't get frustrated. I've been FFing for over 15 years and I still get a skunking streak going on. In fact, if I didn't catch trout on my last outing, it would have been 4 in a row for me too. Winter is a beotch. Keep working on it. The fish will eventually come, but learn to enjoy fly fishing for many reasons, not just the fish. A day on the water will start to become a reward in and of itself.