Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: Salmon River, Pulaski NY, 2/11/2011

cope,I have been fishing the SR for many years so maybe I can help.
First if you do not have boots with spikes you must get them before wading the SR,slippery rocks and strong currents can be dangerous up there as it is a bigger stream then anything in Erie.
Same rod,line,terminal equipment.Flies would be same as Erie,glo bugs,sucker spawn,nympths,etc. size 10-16,streamers size 12-8,Steelhead are the same where ever you find them.
At this time of the year temps rise and the rains come,the SR can rise to a level that is almost unfishable and very dangerous to a newbie,plan your trip accordingly.However if you go and the water changes quickly there are smaller tribs in the area that you can try,the Sandy's (3),Grindstone,Little Salmon,and a few others.Anything flowing into the lake gets a run in high water.
There is very little access concerns on the SR and several well marked parking areas.The Lower Fly Zone is always good and always crowded,below the bridge in Altmar down to Pineville is good at this time of year.Later in the spring the entire SR will have fish as they start dropping back.Also the UFZ opens again April 1 and that's a nice area.
If you can afford one a good guide that specializes in FF would be worth the money up there,would cut the learning curve down.

Posted on: 2011/2/27 17:52

From Chester County
Quote:

troutwilleatflies wrote:
cope,I have been fishing the SR for many years so maybe I can help.
First if you do not have boots with spikes you must get them before wading the SR,slippery rocks and strong currents can be dangerous up there as it is a bigger stream then anything in Erie.
Same rod,line,terminal equipment.Flies would be same as Erie,glo bugs,sucker spawn,nympths,etc. size 10-16,streamers size 12-8,Steelhead are the same where ever you find them.