Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Boiling Springs (The Run), Cumberland Co, 3/13/11

From York, PA
I fished the Run today because no other streams appeared to be fishable with the high water. I'm new to flyfishing so I was pumped to catch three fish today in tough conditions. Managed several on wooly buggers and missed several on clousers. Two rainbows and a brown...good day for me!

Posted on: 2011/3/13 13:05

Edited by Fishidiot on 2011/3/13 15:57:53

Re: Boiling Springs (The Run), Cumberland Co, 3/13/11
From Gettysburg
Good stuff. Glad you had some luck.
You mention tough conditions....Was the water cloudy, or heavy fishing pressure? Usually here in the Stream Reports section we like to see some description of the conditions on the water, hatches, fishing pressure, weather, etc.
Not a big deal. We try to solicit some basic information about the stream for our readership. Also, we request the county where you fished in the title (I already added it for you) so as to maintain a standardized format and assist with search function. Also, there are many streams in the state with the same name ("Pine Creek," "Cedar Run," "Fishing Creek" etc) and providing the county helps prevent confusion.
Thanks,
Dave W

Posted on: 2011/3/13 16:04

From York, PA
Gotcha...

Well, the Run, on the Yellow Breeches was in good shape as it comes from the spring/lake, but the FF area joins the Breeches main stem only a few hundred yards below the lake outflow and the main stem was still blown, into the trees, and chocolate milk. The Run was clear and fishable, but there were several other folks fishing and with only a few hundred yards to work, it may have been too much. I didnt see any other fish caught, and saw only a few visible fish through the FF section.

As for water levels, I dont believe the main stem of the Yellow Breeches will be fishable until the end of this week.

Posted on: 2011/3/13 18:16