Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2)

Re: if the water feels like a bathtub, that's warm, right?

From SEPA
ladies and gentlemen, the coppernose sunfish.

Attach file:

jpg  coppernose.jpg (68.33 KB)
697_4dc74d4e4462c.jpg 338X469 px

Posted on: 2011/5/8 22:09

Gfen,

Thanks for the vicarious trip to the salt. My parents live about a mile from Vany beach n the “low Rent” section, Naples Park. I have been fishing down there 1-2 times per year for 25 years. If you’re headed down again, shoot me a PM. I have a few good wadable spots you might like.

One quick tip: get to the beach about ½ hour before dawn on a moving tide. Snook live a moving tide. You should be able to see well enough on that beach with all the high-rise condos. Also, Wiggin’s Pass has some decent fishing from shore.
Ladyfish and jacks are my “save the day” fish.

Thanks again for sharing.

- Mike

Posted on: 2011/5/10 8:29

From SEPA

I meant to take in Wiggins Pass through the park. One morning I committed to walking down there from the last public access point on Vanderbilt before I decided my old man was confused and it wasn't "a short walk" but a billion miles away.

I imagine that they're going to try and haul me down there again next year, after witnessing how easy it is to fish the surf there (vs the NJ beaches), I'll probably be more willing. Don't be surprised to see a PM from me someday on that subject.

I couldn't do it, but I see what the old people seek the area out. It was amazing how the beaches, when I was there, were devoid of pretty young things but crawling with geezers. I was told its different in season, so what do I know? Next time, I might try and rent a boat for a day in the bay, too.