TIGHT CLAN

osprey

osprey

why are most of you saltie so tight lipped? i have a few chances to get to the salt and it sure is hard to get info. Erie wasn't like that folks were glad to help. I can understand if you make a living from the salt but not otherwise.

I'm new to the salt also, Every question I've asked on this forum has been answerd. I think it's one of the best out there, Members are helpfull. Some other forums they answer what they want.I thank the members here for all there help. They even told me were to get started were i was vacationing. salt fly fishers were i fished were very helpfull in DE.Poeple i met at cape henlopen were nice. What info do you want them to tell you.

what do you want to know ??

i think most people are happy to help with general areas, flies, lines, techniques etc. but they're not going to tell you a specific spot on a specific tides.

thats a throwback to the commercial and moratorium days i guess.

also a lot of holes are handed down generationally, in terms of fishing them on certain tide stages in certain winds, and people do chase fish on the net.

osprey wrote:
why are most of you saltie so tight lipped?.

Are you referring to PAFF forum members.... or have you been talking to other salt anglers in other places to get info?

If you're seeking more info from PAFFers here on this forum, it's worth remembering that the number of PAFF guys who fish the salt are a small number of our community - although growing. Ours is largely a trout fishing community. In recent years, the number of forum members who are talking about warm water and saltwater fishing has grown substantially (with some encouragement from some of us who have tried to steer the conversation more toward fish other than trout) but just compare the number of bass fishing and saltwater reports, pics, and threads vs trout threads.