Pike & Musky Fishing in Eastern PA

• Thread starter bradtheflyfisherman
  • Start date
bradtheflyfisherman

bradtheflyfisherman

Hi all -

Curious here...I am originally from Western PA and know plenty of good pike and musky lakes/rivers that I, unfortunately, did not fish enough of when I used to live a little North of Pittsburgh! However, I am now in the Philadelphia suburbs and was interested in learning a bit more about potential pike and musky water in Eastern PA. I imagine there are probably some isolated Pocono lakes that have healthy populations of pike, and that local rivers likely have decent populations of musky. I do have a kayak that I can use to skirt around lakes and would prefer to wade any rivers/streams. I have an 8wt that I have been dying to use for the past two years...

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

There isn't much viable pike fishing in eastern PA. I'd forget about 'em...especially if you're looking to target them with fly gear. The Poconos are much better for pickerel.

The good news is that eastern PA (and even New Jersey) has really come together for muskies in the last generation or so. Most of the lakes and almost all the large creeks and rivers have muskies - both tigers and purebreds. They're all over eastern PA and the fisheries are improving. It's not in the same league as your old stomping grounds in western PA, but it's pretty good.

There is a wealth of information about muskies on this forum. Take some time to scroll through some of the old threads to identify places to fish. Many of them have links from Mike and other folks to PFBC data and studies. The PFBC website identifies waters stocked with muskies and tiger muskies by county. Spend some time on that site (Search for Warmwater Stocking in previous years)

Good luck with your new pursuit of muskies.

NOTE: This thread will be moved to the Warmwater forum shortly - thanks, DW

Thanks Dave! I'll probe around for other threads on Muskie.

bradtheflyfisherman wrote:
Hi all -