soft hackles

A

atticus

I never really fished soft hackles until a few years ago.It was always dry,nymphs,streamers and emergers.Now, Im a believer.In the spring and early summer Ive caught more trout on soft hackles then any other flies.Could anyone share some of the patterns with which they have had success?I fish mostly Maryland and south PA.

I'm new to soft hackles as well. I've been tying PT and HE nymphs all winter so it was a natrual progression to just put a collar on it. So far I've only fished the PT with some good luck.

I started with the soft hackles last year and have done very well. I don't tie them smaller than 18. Everything I've read says they don't need to be tied teeny tiny. I tie them in various colors, orange, green, brown and black. I wrap small wire over them and hackle, very simple. They catch fish and I use them as an effective second fly in a 2 fly set-up.

like mentioned above, just tie some simple ones in various colors, I like orange, olive, brown , black and cream. keep your hackle to a single turn. I usually just tie two sizes, maybe 16 and 12, but I'd have to check on that.
funny how one of the oldest ways to fly fish is becoming popular again!

try some partridge and peacocks too (peacock body and a turn or 2 of partridge)...they work well during caddis hatches and mix match body colors to match caddis pupa...