no fish for me

paragon

paragon

I am pretty new to the world of fly fishing. I am currenty a student a Pitt law school. For the past 2 months I have been reading this forum and learning all that I can. I have also made friends with ym local fly shop guy and purchased instructional books and dvds. While my casting technique is getting solid, and I am getting much better at tying knots while my fingers are frozen, I have yet to catch a fish. Don't get me wrong. I enjoy my time on the water, and it is quite relaxing just to be outside. Although, I would like to actually catch something at some point. Any pointers about fishing in the Pittsburgh area would be so appreciated.

Your time is coming. Soon the Bluegills will start moving into the shallows and you can hone your newly found skills on them. You can go to the Point or pretty much any body of water and cast foam spiders, small nymphs or just about anything you think they can fit in their mouths.

A hand size bluegill fights as hard as a two pound trout. But more importantly you can catch enough of them at one time to consider it good practice.

If you've started tying your own flies they're also great because they take all your reject flies that you'd never present to a trout.

The only down side is that they usually turn on right between the time all the ATWs close and opening day. But they are an awesome way to learn to fly fish. Good luck.

Paragon

If I were you the first thing I would do is transfer to PSU and get into a area with some great trout water...just kidding!

Sorry I can't help you, don't know anything about your area! Just keep at it, the fish will come!

PaulG

Fishing is difficult when the water is still so cold. Things will pick up soon and you'll be catching plenty of fish as long as you have the basics down and you choose your battles wisely. Stay away from spring creeks for now. Focus on stockies. If its numbers you want learn how to nymph.