Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Still Water Fishing for Trout

From Butler, PA
The PFBC has a trout stocking for a local lake and I was wondering if anyone has any effective tactic and pattern ideas for fishing still water? I have no experience fishing still water for trout and I don’t know feeding behavior in this environment. The edges of the lake get heavy pressure with spinners, spoons, and live bait. Any suggestions?

Posted on: 2009/11/19 12:49

Re: Still Water Fishing for Trout

From Bozeman
I always did well with a size 18 fur ant.

Posted on: 2009/11/19 14:11

From Greensburg, PA
I have several. But its more fun just trying a seeing what will work.

buggers or streamers ...for distance (great practice right before a trip to the beach)

then fast stripping back near the surface...

or give them time to sink and bring them back slowly near the bottom.

or you can strip and then rest and strip and then rest, kind of like jigging.

I find fish tend to cruise in circling packs(schools) in stocked lakes. I will set up a caddis pupa or small nymph 2-4 feet below an indicator and let it sit in what appears to be their regular path. In this case its basically bobber fishing with flies and you can get caught sightseeing.

I prefer to use dies just like in the streams but I find that fish rise most exactly 10 feet further than I can cast.

My favorite way to fish still water is from a float tube. Its great exercise and you can kind of troll if nothing obvious presents itself. I have a kayak too but I still have a thing for my float tube.

Posted on: 2009/11/19 14:26

From Montgomery County
Will you be in a boat or wading from shore? Could make a difference in what your limitations are. Trolling a furry nymph, streamer or wet on an intermediate line is a good option if you're in a boat. Once you find them, start making loops and pass over the same area.