Fishing streamers on small streams?

Redfin

Redfin

Those of you who fish smaller streams with streamers how do you usually fish them?
I ask because I was out a few days ago and the stream was smaller sized. Standing there with a 8.5 rod n 7-8ft leader I really didn't have much line out to work the fly. Like stripping. A few places I could but not very many strips before I was into my leader.

Do you guys just do more dead drifts, and down and across short swings?
It was kinda tough to do it. I would say the stream is about 20 ft wide or so. Standing on edge with my 8.5ft rod n leader just hanging out I'm almost to the other side with no fly line out.

I'm totally new to fishing streamers and I'm coming from high stick nymphing mostly. N it just seems hard to work the streamers on smaller water for me.

Maybe I shouldn't work the streamer at all? Just drift it like a nymph?
I have fished smallmouth with streamers n that was simple cause I have allot of room and cast n can strip but this has me scratching my head.

Any advice

I rarely dead drift streamers on small streams, other than when I want to give it time to sink down and then I'll start working it. But dead drifting can work, especially with smaller flies.

It really depends on the exact spot. When you can strip it, strip it. Many times when fishing the smaller holding lies you're doing more twitching than stripping. Or even jigging if you have a fly with heavy eyes. Any lively action you can give the streamer is a good thing. High stick it like a nymph while twitching it throughout the drift.

Shortening your leader a little may help

Agreed. Shorter leader and maybe even a shorter rod. I fish a 7'6" on smaller streams with a 6' to 7' leader when I fish buggers in small streams.

I use a 6.5" 2w, and never use a leader and tippet combo over 7"

Correction, 7'.