From Glenmoore PA
Gary, welcome to the darkside. You will make a fine nymph fisherman one day

Posted on: 2011/3/19 9:27

Re: Favorite Tandem Rigs

From SEPA
Quote:

surveyor06 wrote:
Gary, welcome to the darkside. You will make a fine nymph fisherman one day

Thankfully, there ample fish on top last night and I didn't need to resort to jig fishing.

Posted on: 2011/3/19 9:47

I'm relatively new to fly fishing and am fortunate to have a friend who is an excellent fly fisherman who I go out with pretty regularly. He wants me to set up tandem rigs, but I feel like as I'm learning to cast well it's better for me to just stick with a single fly. Do you guys think that makes sense or should I man up and learn on tandems? My reasoning is that there's more chance for everything getting tangled up and I'd rather spend more time with one fly in the water than two jumbled up in a knot. He was using a patriot dry and, I think, a PT on the bottom last time we went and I did like that setup rather than using an indicator.

We've been fishing small streams north of Pittsburgh mostly if that's important for your answer.

Posted on: 2011/3/19 12:48

From Glenmoore PA
It really depends on what your doing. If your high sticking, a tandem setup shouldnt be too bad since your not really casting, but more lobbing. If your fishing a dry with a dropper your going to be casting a little more and your going to have to cast a tighter loop. If you start casting with a tailing loop, which alot of new guys (and seasoned guys) do, you could have a mess on your hands. Nothing wrong with a single fly though. Get proficient with that, than move up. Just my two cents

Posted on: 2011/3/19 16:19

From Lehigh River
For faster water on the Lehigh I like a wolly bugger on top and a Maddie wet on the bottom.. Sometimes a double Maddie wet top and Bottom..

Posted on: 2011/3/23 18:52

From lancaster county
PT/Hares Ear/ Copper John/Cress Bug---------------Scud

Posted on: 2011/3/24 14:18