Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »

Re: Beginners- what were'nt you told?

From Pretty much everywhere at some point, Thorndale today.
Hmm, well...

I started fishing when I was just a tod. But until I was about 20, I was a spinning rod/bait fisherman. As far as fly fishing, I'm mostly self taught from that. But being somewhat experienced on the trout streams, I had no trouble with reading water, tying knots, etc. It was the flyfishing specific stuff I had to learn.

A few lessons I've learned since I started with the fly rod.

1. Broaden your horizons. You'll find more patterns that way. There are no universal truths, but there are semi-universal trends that will help. Forget stream names, but learn the trends as they pertain to temperature, specific hatches, water current, depth, fishing pressure, etc. Don't get into the rut of always going to the same place or even the same type of water at different places, or you'll be lost when you do go somewhere new.

2. Every fishermen focuses on where to be. But WHEN and HOW, and the interaction between those two questions, is even more important. Fish are creatures of habit, and while they're dumb, they are conditioned to look for a specific thing in a specific place at a specific time. The smart fisherman uses that instead of trying to convince the fish to change its ways.

3. There are exceptions to #2. For instance, all rainbows like eggs, at any time of year. Freshly stocked fish have not established habits yet. Big fish will have a strong "when" habit, but not so much the what and where, they're more opportunistic and looking for the big meal.

4. Learn the various vegetations and their propensity to grab flies. Some plants are magnets for flies, others can be somewhat ignored when casting.

5. Drag is the #1 factor to presentation. Learn why it happens, how to control it, when to avoid it and when to use it, etc.