Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 (3)

Re: Your first book on fishing/flyfishing ?

From Oxford, Chester Co., PA
My first was Marinaro's "A Modern Dry Fly Code," in the mid-eighties. Though I enjoyed it immensely, indeed I studied it earnestly, it lead me into a dry fly cul-de-sac for many years.

But the story has a happy ending because I later read Ray Bergman and found my way again.

Posted on: 2011/4/27 15:26

From SE PA
Mine was "The Orvis® Guide to Beginning Fly Fishing" Book by Tom Rosenbauer. Still one of the best entry level books on FF out there.

Posted on: 2011/4/29 13:31

From Tioga co. formerly of bucks co.
Started with these and many of the authors who wrote them..

Attach file:

jpg  books 002.jpg (113.22 KB)
112_4dc017c8ea04c.jpg 800X520 px

Posted on: 2011/5/3 10:57

So many Fish, So little time !!!
from the outer edge of nowhere
fly tying and fishing ghillie..
https://www.facebook.com/BigMeadowsFlyShop

From SE PA
Quote:

sandfly wrote:
Started with these and many of the authors who wrote them..

Lot of great classics there.

Posted on: 2011/5/5 20:13

From Jonestown, PA
LaFontaine's Caddisflies book is such a piece of work, I love reading that from time to time.

I too was tying before fishing. Mostly because my father was really into it and that was his way of getting me addicted.. well it worked. My first book was from him "A Book of Trout Flies" by Preston Jennings. Still use it for the majority of my ties.

Posted on: 2011/5/26 13:23

From South Central,PA