Best Fly Fishing Magazines

echuck66

echuck66

I'm wondering what magazines most fly fishers like and why. Which ones do you subscribe to and what made you decide on that one?

I have a two year subscription to Fly Fusion and recently subscribed to Eastern Fly Fishing. The Fly Fusion subscription was a gift, but I can't quite figure out how it could be considered to be a periodical when issues seem to randomly appear. They have great photography, but like most national or international magazines on the sport, it focuses mainly on the dream fishing locations such as Henry's Fork, Montana, Alaska and British Columbia.

I love the articles in Eastern Fly Fishing, and one in particular a few years ago inspired me to make a week-long trip to Pine Creek in North Central PA this April.

The only thing I don't like about Eastern Fly Fishing is that the issues are bi-monthly, but I'm wondering if they publish with any form of regularity either since it's already March and the March-April issue hasn't yet arrived and the January-February issue is still shown as the "current issue" on their website.

Which magazines do you subscribe to and why? Do the issues come at regular intervals?

I'm not real crazy about any of them.
However, I still get fly fisherman. And I resubscribe to it only after they offer me the big discount - $10 a year for 6 issues. But I wouldn't pay the listed rate of $30. I'm just not that interested in it - or any other magazine - anymore.
I mainly read it to keep up on new gear and books. And it does have some fishing destinations pieces that I find enjoyable.

I don't think any magazine publishes monthly anymore

Here is a prior discussion from the distant past:

Prior PAFF Magazine Thread

When I did read FF mags,I liked American Angler the best, but I was looking more for technique articles. Other famous FF mags emphasize destinations, photography, or whatever.