rod building-who does it here? show off your work to give me some inspiration

thetonyage

thetonyage

So im new to rod building and have gained a wealth of knowledge from such websites as rodbuildingforum.com. im always looking at the rod showcase and man those guys can build a beautiful rod. I was wondering if any of you on here do it? Show off some pics of your build(s), i need some inspiration as far as guide wraps and cork grips, i cant quite figure out what color thread/trimbands and what i wanna do as far as makin my own cork grip. Ive turned 2 grips on my homemade lathe but im not really satisfied yet. If you build your own rods lemme see what you have come up with.

I build rods but have yet to build a fly rod. That will come this winter when I build a 7'6" 3 wt for the brook streams. I will try and post a few rods I have done later tonight. Most are pretty simple but very fun to build and more fun to catch fish on.

http://mattdotts.zenfolio.com/cprflyrods

You need hi build epoxy for the wraps and a motor to turn the blank while the hi build up. I built all my imx and im6 rods.

Heres some cork I turned down for some of my builds.
6ft.jpg

DSC00224.jpg

DSC05440.jpg

Latest build. Just something simple.

Sevier Manufacturing blank. 7'0 3/4 wt.

I've got a Spey blank sitting here, need to get on that.

I build a bunch every winter, I'll try to get a few pics up.

Attachments

• IMG_2587.JPG
    IMG_2587.JPG
    361.6 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_2595.JPG
    IMG_2595.JPG
    791.1 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_2603.JPG
    IMG_2603.JPG
    388.9 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_2590.JPG
    IMG_2590.JPG
    398 KB · Views: 2
  • yellow1.jpg
    yellow1.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 2
Glass and 'boo nice. I cant wrap my mind around stepin' away from faster rods. I got a 10wt. build this winter. I have a problem with cork grip on my echo 10wt. turning to mush. So I'm building a all rubberized cork or a cabon fiber grip.

DSC00433.jpg

DSC04946.jpg

biker,

i like your work