new to FF and Philadelphia

A

alexandertbillotte

Hello everybody,
Im still relatively new to FF and will be relocating to the Philadelphia area this Saturday 6/21. I'm looking for any suggestions on where to fish (maybe access points too if you are willing to give directions or locations) as well as people that are looking for someone to fish with, grab a beer, etc. Thanks in advance!
Alex

alexandertbillotte wrote:
Hello everybody,
Im... relocating to the Philadelphia area this Saturday 6/21.

I'm sorry for your misfortune.

Jack has not a clue. Welcome. Where are you coming from and what parts exactly are you relocating to. You will find that we have the best fishing oppurtunities in the state, unless your one of those 5" Brook trout hunters. The delaware river offers some of the best fishing in the state with the exceptional shad and striper runs, great year round smallmouth and largemouth fishing, fantastic walleye fishing in the cooler months, and an impressive array of catfishing oppurtunities. Some may scoff at Catfishing but the flatheads are nearing the 50 lb mark.

Plenty of local warm water waterways that offer every type of panfish, bass and huge carp. If you want to challenge yourself try to land a carp on a fly rod. They are a very worthy adversary' and much more difficult to catch then most fish species.

Within an hours drive you can fish for 5" brook trout or hit the salt for stripers, flounder, sea bass, ling, cod, or whatever else grabs your fancy.

you will enjoy the fishing oppurtunies that we have in the area and will soon wonder why you did not come sooner.

Warm water fishing this time of year is great. Top water poppers and their action are spectaticular. fish are normally in the 5-8" range, I have on occasion hooked into some 3 lb smallies. The challenge is really in trying to locate them. I normally fish the PennyPack Park creek. Sometimes I will head out to Nashiminy Creek.

Reminder: it is pronounced filth a delphia.