Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Stream reports USGS

Hi, everyone! This is my first official post since joining and I hopefully put this question in the right place.

I'm fairly new to fly fishing (this season) and am having a hard time reading the PA stream reports and relating the numbers to unfishable conditions.

The Yough, as an example, shows as 5.0 feet on Gage height, whereas the average is normally 2.5. Discharge is 2K cubic feet per second where the average is around 200-250.

The numbers vary significantly depending on the streams. The numbers are significantly lower at smaller bodies of water, but are nonetheless higher than averages.

How are you able to distinguish these numbers and relate them to actual fishing conditions?

Is a 5 foot Gage reading at the Yough fishable? I'm lost!

Thanks for all the help, guys. I'm really enjoying these forums.

RJ

Posted on: 2013/6/28 22:47

Edited by Fishidiot on 2013/7/21 22:41:51

Re: Stream reports

From Pittsburgh
I'll try to simplify things.
The yough has many gauges along it. And I think it's easier to go by the CFS, which is flow rate - instead of gauge height, which is really just a reference point for that particularly gauge site.
The gauge at the yough river dam, reads the flow that is coming out of the bottom of the lake. And it's running at a flow rate of 375 CFS right now - which is definitely fishable. I like that section to be between 400 and 600 CFS for good fishing
Two miles downstream of there, the flows of the casselman river and laurel hill creek come in - nearly doubling the flow of the river at that point. And the next gauge station downstream - referred to as below confluence - reads that combined flow. And I like that section of the river to be 1,000 CFS or less for good fishing.
And the same goes for the next two gauges down - at ohiopyle and connellsville.