Rocky Mountain Native in PA - An Intro

Raff

Raff

I am new to PA, to the boards, and to fly fishing on the East coast. Some guys from a board I frequent out west said this was the most informative and civil board around, and I'm excited to learn as much as I can searching the archives and discussing PA fly fishing with you.

So here is a little about me.

I just moved to West Chester, PA from Salt Lake City, UT. I'm a rocky mountain trout chaser through and through. I'm not a purist - meaning dry fly only - that I run into out west. I'll throw whatever the fish are eating; nymphs, soft hackles, dries, or streamers (especially some gnarly Kelly Galloups articulated stuff!). Because of the move, I haven't had opportunity nor time to do more research about fishing around the Philadelphia area, although that will come with time.

So I have a couple of questions for you all to help me on my research of the area:

-What are the best publications out there for fly fishing in PA? Philadelphia?

-Where can I learn about public access points? I've heard the private property laws can really cramp your style if you aren't in the know.

-What kind of flies do I need to start tying that differ from the Rocky Mountain flies I'm used to?

Any info that you fine folks would be willing to impart would be much appreciated. Thanks and hope to see you out on the river (or not if solitude is what you seek).

Raff

Hi Raff,