Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

PA Prodigal son returning for fly fishing trip

From Fairborn, OH
Hi there -

I'm brand new to this place and just surfing around it seems like exactly what I'm after. I'm an Air Force officer stationed in Las Vegas who grew up in Pennsylvania (Philly area) and didn't get into fly fishing until recently. While I enjoyed a lot of coastal bait fishing as a kid, it's almost sickening to finally learn to fly fish as a 30-something and realize how much great water it appears I missed as a kid and young adult. That said, it's time to make up for lost time and see some of Central PA while I'm at it.

My mission: to make a mid-week, 1-day trip in or around Clinton County into a scenic, worthwhile fly fishing trip for wild trout.

Reason: I'm home for a wedding in Philly in mid-October and will have a day to spare to drive into the mountains and try some small water opportunities. My sister attended Lock Haven University and I never got the chance to see that area as I was away at navigator school back when she was attending. It's a must that I get to see the PA mountians in Fall once again.
The pictures I have seen show some beautiful country and reading the PA guides shows a lot of public access in the woods aroud the school.

The plan: look at all of the options in Clinton County for wild trout, throw a dart at one and see what the day brings. I love exploring and finding new places to go out on my own. The way I see it, any creek will do, provided I have public access.

I really need some help selecting gear and flies. Right now, I have zero clue what bugs I should pitch during that early/mid-Fall timeframe. As of now, all of my fly fishing has taken place in Nevada, Utah and Colorado, and mostly stillwater at that. As for rods, I presently own the following rod/line (all of which are probably too long for the wooded areas, but I'll make due):