New Trout Carvings - January 2021

MathFish

MathFish

Just sharing my newest fish carvings. Last weekend, I started 3 fish and carved them on and off throughout the week. This weekend, I painted all three. It was a nice way to spend some time inside watching the snow happen out my window.

The first trout was a brookie carving I made as a thank you gift for a friend of mine who really helped me out this past fall. I based it off of a trout I caught a few years ago. I'm happy with how it turned out and I almost wanted to keep it for myself.

The brookie that the carving is based on
50846205638_67560cf56c_b.jpg

Here is the painted carving.
50847018847_0c0816fad2_k.jpg

50847018942_e5dd4c671c_k.jpg

50846205833_c73d1e1e36_k.jpg

Next, I decided to make a California Golden Trout. This carving is based off of photos I found online of them. I made a pinewood derby car of one of these trout, but this is my first attempt at carving the fish without wheels. This fish took my about 4 hours to paint. I told my wife that I plan to one day get out fish for these.

50846938431_96be275404_k.jpg

50846938351_1aa1c9df0f_k.jpg

50846938146_a4f81109a6_k.jpg

50846210138_aa7787ab87_k.jpg

Lastly, I came across a photo of an absolutely beautiful young greenback cutthroat trout that I wanted to try and carve. Here is the link to the site which has the photo. It's the second photo on the page. I didn't want to post that photo in this posting since it is copyrighted and I am not sure how that works... Greenback Cutthroat Trout Link

This is also a trout that I would like to one day make a point to get out and see in person. Here is how the greenback carving turned out.

50846213863_6bddd3375c_k.jpg

50846213918_a59f91ba92_k.jpg

50846941581_e180ff2b4b_k.jpg

50846213718_b0beb2c5f7_k.jpg