Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Morning Hatch??

From Bushkill
I was fishing the Bushkill yesterday in the morning and there was a hatch i suspected going on because there were mayflies on the water. Im new to identifiny the different hatches and didnt think hatches occured in the morning. they were were mostly white the trout were feeding fiercly on them. What hatch occurs in the morning and what flies should i use, i tried a light cahil and a quill gordon and only got one response. Any suggestions on what to use

Posted on: 2013/6/3 7:50

Re: Morning Hatch??

I would first say try to match the general size and shade (light or dark) as a start.

The white sounds funny - the morning mayfly hatch now is typically the large olives (cornutas) which are a size 14 olive mayfly. In the summer I see a lot of white midges. Maybe a little yellow stone? Did they look white from a distance or did you get close to one? Sometimes the wings flapping make a fly seem light colored from a distance because you are mostly seeing the wing of a flying insect. This happens a lot with caddis which look tan flying around but if you grab one they can have a very dark body. My final suggestion is a spinner. Often the spinner falls can hold off to the morning or the fish are still picking up the ones that fell in the night and many of the mayfly spinners now are light colored. Were the fish gently sipping the bugs instead of smashing them? A sign they are on the spinners. Also, look straight down on the water. When spinners are laying flat on the water they can be hard to see at a distance and are easier to see straight down.

I guess you had to be there, but these are a few thoughts to consider.

Posted on: 2013/6/3 9:40

From Bushkill
what is the difference between a spinner and a regular dry fly. even tried a bwo emerger in size 14.

Posted on: 2013/6/3 10:08

From Lancaster Co.