How long will it take?

G

gmillen

I was just thinking about how long it will take to catch fish flyfishing because. This is my first year I will be going out. And was wondering how long it took you guys to catch your first trout flyfishing.And any tips that might help out on the stream I will mostly be going for brook and brown trout on a steam called little mahonning fly project and tionesta river in forest county if you guys have heard of those. I've heard the wooly bugger would be simple and effective and will be fishing with a redington crosswater.
Any info is apriciated i'm new to the art.

Thanks Garrett Millen....
;-)

Took me forever.... I was a little kid. I used to cry annd run away from my Dad when he used to try to pull me off the stream. I wonder why he didnt beat the crap out of me. Hang around this forum long enough and you will pick up plenty of tips.

Small world- I got my start, my very first fly fishing excursions, on Little Mahoning. I was probably 12 or 13. That was a lot of years ago and trust me when I say its still tough and frustrating. But you have to stick with it. It may take a long time. Fishing for tougher fish under more exacting conditions is all part of fly fishing and especially project waters.

As far as specific advice for Little Mahoning, a woolly bugger is just fine. But consider learning to fish wetflies on the downstream swing. This is one of the easiest ways to fish and I know from experience a beginner can catch fish in that stream using this tactic. Look up some of the many threads on here about wet fly fishing. the good news is these are mostly stocked fish, so they are a little easier to catch when they are fresh and haven't been fished over by a million guys.