How do you describe your fly fishing style?

Acristickid

Acristickid

Maybe you never have even thought about it. Have fished with enough people that I can identify several styles I guess. Some I might not even be able to describe.

Maybe you are to new or a beginner to even have a style (nothing wrong with that). Maybe your changing styles- have you?

Are you a purist? Just having fun and dont care at all? Maybe dries only. Maybe partial to nymphing? Maybe bamboo? Maybe only fish during when bugs are hatching? Engineer type- where you have to understand why and what something happened. Streamer guy?

Me- I am a jack of all trades, master of none. Really- I will fish wets,nymphs and dries and toss meat flies. I recognize each has it's place and can be effective. I am not an expert at anything but I feel competent enough at most tactics. I also can fish most any water since I dont get locked into any one method or any one type of location. No one trick ponies.

Am at the point where I have fished enough where I can pass on crap condition days. I dont have to outdo anyone. Don't get me wrong I want to catch fish, especially if my buddies are catching and I am not. I never want to "come in last". hehehe I would take some time to help others out- but I am not the type to walk over to someone and say "Hey you need to highstick nymph, dummy and you'll start catching too." Because hey, maybe it's just not their style.

YOU??

I would agree with your assessment of yourself.

I don't know what I am. I just like to fish. Feel free to give me your opinion on it.

Jay- well, your not a purist.

Your not just a dry or nymph guy. You like streamers but stuck on them. In my estimation, I would say our styles are very similiar.

Both- journeyman. hehehehehe

That's fair. Definitely a journeyman. No real interest in being an expert, as it implies not much left to learn, and it's not really attainable. If I got to that stage, I'd move to the keys and start from scratch.