Register now on PaFlyFish.com! Login
HOME FORUM BLOG PHOTOS LINKS

Sponsors

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

« 1 2 3 4 (5) 6 7 8 »

Re: How do you describe your fly fishing style?

From Oxford, Chester Co., PA
I believe it was ER Hewitt who first came up with the 4-Phases-of a- fisherman idea. It has since become cliche. If your grandad had been a serious flyfisher back before WWII, he would have thought Hewitt was the cat's pajamas.

I've been flyfishing for trout since 1986. I'm not terribly stylish but I do have a certain mindset that I bring to my fishing. I'm a traditionalist of sorts. Not your atavisitic re-enactor type, rather the kind of sport who thinks the old-timers had some ideas worthy of emulation. I have been a follower of the North Country school for some time; meaning I enjoy fishing a team of three wet flies with a long rod and a fairly light line. I tie my own flies, which are almost entirely spiders (aka soft-hackles).

How I fish is more important to me than how many, though I like to catch at least one trout each time out and feel very satisfied with a pair.

I like to fish alone, but will always chat with another fisherman if the opportunity arises (though I firmly believe in granting space to the other fellow).

I am a slow-moving fisherman who favors a short line technique. I don't fish nymphs but if I lived nearby a limstoner I would learn that technique. I sometimes fish dries for mountain brookies.

I love mountain freestone streams and firmly agree with Thad Norris that tobacco and trout fishing are inseparably bound up with one another.

I keep the occasional trout, especially if I intend to thank my hostess for her hospitality. And there is nothing more refreshing than a short nap along the stream.

Posted on: 2010/8/26 10:18

From florida
Old aged eclectic fly fisherman.I can fish from top to bottom and find a fish that is dumb enough to strike.Once in a while.