How Many ????

Bruno

Bruno

Now that I have been tying flies for a few years now, I really took a look at the number of boxes I am filling. Here is what I got so far.

1. Dry fy box
2. Nymph box
3. bugger box
4. Steelhead / salmon box
5. terrestrial box
6. A Garbage can - box

I was wondering what the average guy/ gal carries to the stream. Years ago one box would cover me for a day. Now I got six. I also fill a couple of buddies boxes as well. The way I am going now I may need to get a couple of bigger boxes. Am I OCD ?????

I carry three small clear plastic boxes in my vest. I load them up prior to going on the stream with a selection I think should work for that day. A larger collection resides back in the truck.

I've read too many accounts where people dropped thier fly box into the stream and lost a years worth of flies. I've also taken a couple of swims over the years and the less that weighs me down the better. Also less that needs to be dried out afterward.

I have:

1. dry fly box
2. nymph box
3. streamer box
4. wild trout box(Only box I carry when I fish brookies)
5. Steelhead/egg/globug box
6. Bass box
7. Striper box
8. Midge box (It's only half full)

I normally carry all of the boxes, except the striper box, in my truck and then just put the ones I feel I'm going to use that particular day in my vest. Normally I'll carry the first 3 boxes I listed, but if there is no real chance of any dry fly activity I'll just carry 2. However when I'm mountain trout fishing I carry one box and wear no vest. My goal there is to go as lightweight and least bulky as possible. In addition to my 8 fly boxes I also carry in my truck during the peak of the season 2 storage containers with all of my extra flies.