Good patterns for Valley Cr this time of year?

T

timmyt

I just accepted a new job literally five mins from Valley so I will be there a lot on lunch and after work, especially once it gets warm. Gonna start my "valley" box, any suggestions would be appreciated, I have only fished it once before

Thanks!

I'm a only a little bit away as well for work.

Perhaps we'll hit it up once we get a little more daylight.

Anyway, scuds, generic nymphs, buggers, streamers, walt's worms, and midges. Micro eggs have been said to work too, but I've never tried them.

In the summer, green weenies, terrestrials, stimulators, and other attractors as well as the above mentioned flies will do it for ya.

I also work fairly close to valley and would be interested in meeting up. I may watch some of you tenured ff for a while since I am very new to the sport to get some tips. Looking forward to it. PM if you you think you'll get out there soon.

It's tough this time of year.

By the time I get done work, there is little to no daylight left.

This sounds pretty pathetic but the only fly that ive ever caught fish on at valley is a size 14-16 olive scud. One time I lost one on a zebra midge though...I am new to fly fishing and haven't fished it in the spring though, only summer, fall, and once this winter(got skunked though)

I am down to meetup anytime there

I have been told copper johns work well there as well?

Is there any truth to the fact that you should not use beadhead nymphs there? I heard the fish won't hit beadheads but kind of have a hard time believing it

I may head out there one day this week the weather looks nice, I'll post here if I am gonna

Thanks for the info fellas

The beadheads issue with wild trout was a hot topic.

I think that it's a bunch of crap. A beadhead will work fine at valley. If anything, with proper conditions, it could be more effective.